Exclusive interview – Richard Lee talks back

24 Oct

ImageBrentford goalkeeper Richard Lee surprised supporters on Sunday night when he published a series of comments on ‘Twitter’ after several unfounded rumours appeared on message-boards regarding his alleged attitude and fitness. ‘The Last Word’ was fortunate enough to catch up with Richard ahead of this weekend’s ‘pay what you can’ game where he was happy to respond to those comments in full, aswell as talking about everything from David Button and Simon Moore to the team aspirations and his own interests when not playing football.

You took to Twitter on Sunday night to respond to rumours about your attitude (i.e. allegedly ‘not bothered about being substitute’) and fitness. What drove you to do this – it seems quite an unusual step, given the huge amount of rumours that circulate in cyberspace? I’m not normally one to respond to rumours, but I was aware that one or two of these rumours had started to gather momentum and naturally I was keen to dispel them. That’s one of the great things about Twitter, it gives you the opportunity to put your side across and hopefully in writing the things I did I was able to make my position clear.

And, for the record, ‘rumours’ you are happy to scotch? Presumably you are chomping at the bit to get back into the Brentford starting XI on a regular basis? I absolutely want to play. Last season was a write off personally. I was never fit enough to play from August 2012 onwards with my shoulder, but had agreed that I would make myself available for the season as a back-up and put my operation off for as long as possible – in the end I only made it to March before the shoulder went completely. I’m now fully fit so my position is completely different. I want to play and help Brentford succeed.

What do you think you’ll have to do to impress Uwe enough to achieve this? I‘m aware of what he wants from a goalkeeper and this is the main reason I’ve turned my garage into a ‘goalkeeping gym’! I’m really happy with much of my game but have a few areas that I wish to really nail down in order to fulfill the ideal of what he believes a goalkeeper should be. Naturally with the modern game being what it is, distribution for a goalkeeper is now vital. I’ve seen big improvements here but intend to take this a step further this season.

How good is your relationship with David Button?

To read the rest of this article, season 2013/14 is now available to download onto Kindle, in full. Containing previously unseen content, you can do so here for less than the cost of one matchday programme.

 Thanks for reading over the course of the campaign. For now I need to make space on this page for any follow up.  The ‘close season’ / World Cup columns continue in full, further on in this site.

Leave a Reply

