“Your vocabulary is as crude and as blunt as the football Brentford play”

16 Feb

Not my words but those of a visiting Wolves fan to this site, only yesterday. Its a fair point, in part. Whilst my ‘style’ probably is of the unsophisticated sort associated with a humble blog rather than a Premiership /League One matchday programme, the same cannot be said about Brentford’s style of play. Just ask Crewe.

To read the rest of this article, season 2013/14 is now available to download onto Kindle, in full. Containing previously unseen content, you can do so here for less than the cost of one matchday programme.

 Thanks for reading over the course of the campaign. For now I need to make space on this page for any follow up.  The ‘close season’ / World Cup columns continue in full, further on in this site.

14 Responses to ““Your vocabulary is as crude and as blunt as the football Brentford play””

  1. roger greenaway (sheffbee) February 16, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

    Hi Nick

    Blimey that’s a bit rich coming from that Brummie lot. They can’t even talk proper. I’m impressed with your dignified low key response. Never rise to the bait is sound advice. Anyway we Bees certainly value all your reports and comments and we marvel at how prolific you are.

    Keep up the good work. Best regards Roger
    (sheffbee)

    • Roger Worton February 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm #

      oh dear we are brunnies are we? Are you a member of the cock’an’knee tribe then?

      • nickbruzon February 16, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

        Please chaps – can we keep it civil on both sides. Let’s just leave the banter to the footballing facts.

        Roll on Saturday – its a massive match. Can’t wait to see the two best teams in the division in action

  2. alexwolves February 16, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

    Calling us brummies is just like us saying saying you all drink in the queen vic and all shag peggy mitchell.

    Anyway I thought everyone in london supported west ham

    • nickbruzon February 16, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

      Please, no. Peggy Mitchell……

  3. Rustymini February 16, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

    I’m a Wolves fan who wouldn’t dream of knocking Brentford (no really). I love it when the clubs with less resources do well (for example Yeovil last season). I guess it works the other way when the smaller clubs supporters revel when a large club falls on hard times. Unfortunately I couldn’t get a ticket for Saturday (I think you only sent us 1600 – they sold out pretty quick) so it’s the radio for me. A season defining encounter for both clubs.
    Incidentally, just to clarify, we are from The Black Country, not Birmingham. The Brummies call us Yam Yam’s, the Baggies call us Dingles but please do not call us Brummies as it hurts our very sensitive nature.
    Don’t be fooled by yesterdays scoreline either. We really didn’t get out of second gear.
    P.S. Nick – I enjoy your blog (I hope I still do after Saturday)

    • nickbruzon February 16, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

      Many thanks indeed.

      I’m absolutely buzzing for Saturday’s game. I’ve actually got a lot of time for Wolves – these are, without a doubt, the two best teams in the division whilst you also have, rightly, a great history that you should be proud of.

      Equally, its nice to see some positive commentary coming in rather than the usual cheap shots.

      Just penning a few words on the subject for tomorrow then going to lie low, at least on this clash, until Saturday.

      Cheers

    • Ancient Wolf February 17, 2014 at 12:14 am #

      Unfortunately, Rustymini’s clarification was not accurate. Wolverhampton is not in the Black Country and never has been. It’s a common mistake made by the media and even many Wolves fans. So we are neither Brummies nor Black Countrymen.
      Looking forward to a great contest at the weekend and I wish Brentford well for the remainder of the season thereafter.

      • nickbruzon February 17, 2014 at 6:03 am #

        Nice one – cheers! Appreciate the clarification and looking forward to Saturday’s action

      • Alex Wolves February 17, 2014 at 7:23 am #

        ^^^^^^^not sure what this bloke is talking about ^^^^^^

      • solidgold February 17, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

        If you read the signs on the way into the city it reads “Welcome to Wolverhampton in the black country”! So the council must have it wrong also . although I am led to believe we were once part of Staffordshire which definitely wasn’t in the black country lol .

      • Rustymini February 18, 2014 at 10:05 am #

        I agree that the Black Country has never really had a defined boundary. Certainly when I was growing up most of north Wolverhampton would have never have considered themselves as part of it. I am from south Wolverhampton and I (along with most of the Wolves fan base) are definitely in the Black Country. I can almost see Dudley castle from my house (OK I have to go a couple of streets away) Dudley being the capital of the Black Country (and I know many would disagree with that). Our local “Black Country Bugle” (the definitive source for most things Black Country) carries many stories about Wolverhampton so that’s good enough for me.

      • Rustymini February 22, 2014 at 8:48 am #

        Just to clarify Solidgold. Prior to the creation of the West Midlands county (1974?) most of the Black Country was in Staffordshire. My birth certificate says I was born in South Staffs and I was most certainly born in the Black Country. The main exception was Dudley which although totally surrounded by Staffordshire was a little island of Worcestershire a few miles from the rest of Worcestershire. Take a look at a pre 1974 map that shows county boundaries – you’ll see how strange it looks.

  4. roger greenaway (sheffbee) February 17, 2014 at 11:02 am #

    Hi Guys

    Just got up after my night shift, seems that I have really hit a nerve with you chappies in the Midlands. I’ve always found it funny that all Londoners are tagged with the Cockney reference. So hope we can call it a draw off the pitch.

    Meanwhile on the pitch the match is just as mouthwatering as we all hoped and I really hope it turns out to be a classic. I think we are the two best sides but neither can afford a slip up. My workmates are quick to remind me that the Millers are looking good and L. O. could still finish well. League one has been brilliant this year, lets hope our next game is the show piece.

    Best regards to everybody
    Roger
    (sheffbee)

Leave a Reply

