It would take a genius to predict this one

21 Feb

It’s almost matchday. Tomorrow, finally, sees Brentford entertain Wolves at Griffin Park in the showdown between League One’s form team and the early season pace-setters. These are very much the top two sides in the division with Wolves’ current residence in the play-off places largely due to Leyton Orient (the anti-Crawley?) playing anything from two to seven games more than all but three of their rivals.

I’m predicting a noisy atmosphere and a full house. That much is obvious, though. Beyond that, I’m loathe to call it. The Bees are, of course, unbeaten in 19 games whilst Wolves have large travelling support and a strong squad. They aren’t within touching distance of the leaders by sheer good luck.

To read the rest of this article, season 2013/14 is now available to download onto Kindle, in full. Containing previously unseen content, you can do so here for less than the cost of one matchday programme.

 Thanks for reading over the course of the campaign. For now I need to make space on this page for any follow up.  The ‘close season’ / World Cup columns continue in full, further on in this site.

5 Responses to “It would take a genius to predict this one”

  1. Stevie D February 21, 2014 at 8:10 am #

    Wolves fan here and it seems you see the game much the same as I do. A massive test of our credentials and one of the few games this season where I don’t automatically think we’ll win before a ball has been kicked. Your boys are on a fantastic run, but all good things must come to an end and Wolves fans can only hope this is the game when the Brentford bulldozer hits the buffers.
    Much has been written about Wolves resources, but much of our parachute money has gone into the deep pockets of the overpaid dross that got us into this league in the first place. Our team now consists of some astute bargain signings by Kenny Jackett and several academy graduates who couldn’t get a look in under previous regimes.
    Either way, it’s exciting times for both our clubs and I just can’t wait for Saturdays action to start. I’m having much more fun than I ever did during our tortuous Premier League years so don’t really care at the moment if we never get back there.
    May the best team win. My prediction……errrr……2-2.

  2. Rustymini February 21, 2014 at 10:17 am #

    I think you’ve summed up saturday pretty well Nick although I don’t agree with your score prediction. I’ve had £10 on Wolves to win 3 – 1. The bookies don’t agree with me either as they gave me 25/1. The one result I don’t think it will be is a draw, both teams will go for it.
    Regarding previous subjects on your blog I notice that Brentford have made a wise move and have now invested in a rain cover. I’d be interested to know how much that cost. I firmly believe that it is essential equipment for teams without under pitch drainage. Just look at Crawley. How many home games have they lost to the weather now? Not only will they have the financial loss of having to play games in midweek but they will have to play two games a week till the end of the season. I don’t know how big their squad is but if it’s a small one this could also have a massive effect on potential relegation. Stevenage could end up with a few issues as well.
    I’m still enjoying your blog Nick, hope I still am after saturday.

  3. Sleachy February 21, 2014 at 11:22 am #

    I can’t remember the last time I looked forward to a Wolves match as much as I’m looking forward to the fixture at Griffin Park. However I can remember lots of times I’ve felt equally as nervous – we’ve had plenty of ‘must not lose’ fixtures in the last few years. The difference between this young and hungry team and its twice relegated predecessor is that these days we tend not to lose such games.

    According to a Bee who came on our blog last week, midfield is the part of your team he was most concerned about. Unfortunately for you we have dominated the possession in every game we’ve played since December, so I’m hopeful tomorrow will be no different.

    Obviously your epic 19 match unbeaten streak is worthy of respect, but given the way we’ve been playing of late I find it hard to foresee anything other than 3 points for The Wolves.

    A clean sheet would be lovely, but i think we’re just gonna have to out score you. I’m saying 2-1 to the visitors.

    COME ON ME BABBIES!!!!

  4. Rustymini February 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    I don’t think this is a “must not lose” for either team. Whoever wins I think both teams are so much better than the chasing pack (OK I know that strictly speaking we’re third at the moment) that it won’t make much difference by May. Obviously I would prefer Wolves to go up as champions but Brentford 1st and Wolves 2nd at the end of the season would be fine by me.

    • Robbie24. February 21, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

      If both these fantastic footballing, high scoring, so much better than the rest two teams only have to turn up to get promoted, how come the ORIENT did the Bees 2-0 at the fortress Griffin Park, and the Premier Class Wolves scraped a 1-1 at the Theatre of Nightmares.
      Pride before a fall and all that, could your Gaffer work the wonders with a team of freebies that nobody else wanted? You both have to come to East London, be afraid very afraid, and Sky will show everybody your not as good as you like to think you are.
      I feel a song coming on.

Leave a Reply

