Wolves may have a title but King Kev wears the crown

22 Apr

In the end Wolves swept aside Leyton Orient and with Brentford not quite able to hold onto the lead at MK Dons (Izale McLeod must have really wanted that half price pizza) the title has gone to Molineux. And so before this column goes any further, I must start by offering my congratulations to Kenny Jackett, his team and their supporters.

The table doesn’t lie and having 99 points with two games left shows they are worthy champions. This aside, I’d love to think that Brentford have more than given them an unforeseen run for their money and kept the pressure on all the way.

Our own total of 91 is already a club record, with the chance available to push this to 97. Just to put this into real perspective, last season’s eventual winners Doncaster Rovers did it with a ‘mere’ 84.

To read the rest of this article, season 2013/14 is now available to download onto Kindle, in full. Containing previously unseen content, you can do so here for less than the cost of one matchday programme.

 Thanks for reading over the course of the campaign. For now I need to make space on this page for any follow up.  The ‘close season’ / World Cup columns continue in full, further on in this site.

8 Responses to “Wolves may have a title but King Kev wears the crown”

  1. Peter Tulk April 22, 2014 at 6:59 am #

    As a lifelong Wolves fan I would like to say it has been a pleasure locking horns with the Bees this season. You are gentlemen all, and your team and fans are a credit to the league. You have a fantastic club, a ground that is a pleasure to visit, and a lack of bitterness that is rare in club setups these days. Long may you prosper, and I look forward to meeting you again in the Championship next season. Go Bees!

    • nickbruzon April 22, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

      Many thanks Peter. Really appreciate your comments and I’m just pleased the two best teams in the league have gone up this season

  2. Rustymini April 22, 2014 at 10:39 am #

    What an absolutely brilliant season. I’m sure you would have preferred the top two positions to have been reversed Nick but you must be overjoyed at your promotion. The best two teams are up and if there is any justice then Rotherham will join us via the play offs.
    I couldn’t go to Leyton Orient yesterday (I wouldn’t have got back in time for work) so I had to watch on TV. I would rather have been there but at least my disappointment was eased a little as at least one clever Wolves fan had £10 on a 3 – 1 win.
    Here’s to next season.

    • nickbruzon April 22, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

      Overjoyed isn’t the word. As I said today, I’d have loved to have been Champions but when the league winners are on a99 already (and relative to 84 from last year) there can be no complaints.
      Friday was a stunning day, as yesterday must have been for yourselves.
      I’m itching for next season already

  3. Essex Wolf April 22, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    As a Wolves fan I have been receiving your blog through a news feed ever since we played you and I must say what a refreshing read I have found it to be. Like others have said can’t wait to meet and play you next year.

    Thanks and keep it up.

    • nickbruzon April 22, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

      Thanks ‘Essex Wolf’

      Really appreciate your comments. Despite some initial upset I seemed to cause, the majority of Wolves fans have been really sporting this season.

      The fact we’ve been going neck and neck for most of the campaign has kept me very firmly interested in your progress ( I know some people haven’t understood my fascination with Wolves but as a football fan then it is natural to have a keen interest in your main competition).

      Ultimately, 99 points speaks for itself and I have no complaints. That said, I’m proud that we stayed in it so long and kept things interesting.
      I’ll never give up until it is mathematically impossible but that point has now been reached.
      Well done, again

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bees in search of that magical 97 (with one aiming for 500) | BrentfordFC - April 26, 2014

    […] other big target for the coming week is ‘the O’Connor’ factor. You may have seen the piece about King Kev and his potential 500th on Tuesday and I have no doubt whatsoever that Saturday afternoon will see him reach 499 at some […]

  2. 4-1 defeat? Move along, nothing to see here. | BrentfordFC - April 27, 2014

    […] statistical waste bin of history, the one real positive to come out of it was another appearance by Kevin O’Connor. We were left waiting – the 85th minute – but eventually number 499 […]

Leave a Reply

