Looking back to look forward for King Kev. Leeds’ loss is Brentford’s gain

1 May

This Saturday will, all being well, see Kevin O’Connor make his 500th appearance for Brentford. It is a stunning achievement for our club captain who passed the 400 mark at the time of his testimonial match (against Fulham) in 2010.

Back then, I was fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to interview Kevin for that game’s programme. Whilst much has changed since that column was written, re-reading it last night in anticipation of this weekend’s game has shown some very interesting parallels and reminders. Starting with his joining the Bees, the Last Word looks back at what King Kev had say about Brentford and his career as he approached that previous landmark.

Kevin on starting at Brentford: “As a youngster, in the first year I had to clean Ijah Anderson’s boots and also Ryan Dennis. Then, when Paul Evans joined, I had to look after him. That was brilliant for me and he really looked after me when I was YTS.

He’d have a chat with me and I got to know him quite well. Once I broke through he was brilliant and looked after me. He went out of his way to make sure I was alright “

On breaking into the squad: “I came in to the team just before Ron Noades quit. There was a lot of good players then – Andy Woodman, Martin Rowlands, Lloyd Owusu.

It was intimidating but the lads were brilliant and after a couple of weeks I was able to fit right in. They were a really nice bunch, like family. It was a good atmosphere and I think it showed on the pitch over the years.

I’ve been really lucky at Brentford – every squad has got on really, which helps as you want to enjoy going in to work. It shows; when every one gets on and is working hard for each other you get that little bit more out of the team.”

To read the rest of this article, season 2013/14 is now available to download onto Kindle, in full. Containing previously unseen content, you can do so here for less than the cost of one matchday programme.

 Thanks for reading over the course of the campaign. For now I need to make space on this page for any follow up.  The ‘close season’ / World Cup columns continue in full, further on in this site.

 

Leave a Reply

