Is Cameron Diaz a Brentford fan ? The answer, revealed

4 Sep

The question that Brentford fans have contemplated for years has finally been put directly to Cameron Diaz. And it has been answered.

On Thursday morning, Absolute Radio DJ Christian O’Connell played out his interview with the Hollywood A-lister and finally obtained the truth about her rumoured love of Brentford.

It’s a story that has been recounted for over a decade and quoted in sources as varied as The Daily Star, The Daily Mail and ESPN. We’d all seen the like of Rhino out of The Quo, Richard Archer and Natalie Sawyer at Griffin Park , but never Cameron.

The scene was set last night in the build up article. To be honest, as I wrote this I feared the worst but you never know. Stranger things have happened.

Sadly, however, not this strange. It seems that not only has she never been to Griffin Park but, in a gutbusting revelation, Diaz confessed , “It’s not that I’m not a fan of the Bees. I just really didn’t know they existed.

(l-r) Jason Segal, Christian O'Connell, Cameron Diaz. No Bees

(l-r) Jason Segal, Christian O’Connell, Cameron Diaz. No Bees

You can download the podcast which features the full interview from Absolute Radio and I-tunes. Failing that, the key exchange was as follows:

OC: There is a huge rumour that you are a football fan. Or Soccer as you guys call it now, which is getting bigger in America. And..a fan of Brentford. Is this true or not?

CD: You know, I think I would love to know more about football. I don’t.

OC: So you are not a fan of The Bees?

CD: Let me just tell you something. It’s not that I’m not a fan of the Bees. I just really didn’t know they existed.

You can see the FULL, unedited video version, below. 8m45 is the point where the killer blow is delivered

 

Noooooo. This was the ultimate celebrity kick in the nuts. Or in footballing terms, like hearing we’d sold Dean Holdsworth and replaced him with Murray Jones.

That said, there is still hope. Possibly. The interview concluded with Cameron’s admission that: “Now that I know they exist, I’m going to look into them. I’m going to Google them.”

I hope she does. And not just because I think that she’d like what she found. More, I’d love us to be the team supported by Cameron Diaz AND Dean Gaffney.

How often would you get chance to see those two together?

For now, a face is (sadly) crossed off The Bees montage

For now, a face is (sadly) crossed off The Bees montage

3 Responses to “Is Cameron Diaz a Brentford fan ? The answer, revealed”

  1. Mike Lane September 4, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

    One of our friends is a famous script writer. A couple of years ago he was working with Cameron and promised me that he would bring her to GP when she was in London. Sadly it never happened but after reading the blog I am very relieved that he never got to ask her!

  2. Luis Adriano September 4, 2014 at 7:58 pm #

    Did COC mention Dan Tana? He’s always been the Hollywood link. Maybe if he had, Ms Diaz would have been more obliging.

    • nickbruzon September 4, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

      Not on the bit that was played out. He certainly did the day before but who knows whether that was mentioned in the interview

Leave a comment